A technique for finding your passion

May 8, 2010

Everyone’s passionate about something. Some people are passionately opposed to being passionate.

But hardly anyone knows how to turn their passion into a driving force that helps effortlessly build their career or relationships or whatever.

Now, I’m no Oprah Winfrey, but I know how to recognize passion when it stirs within me.

And when it does, I take note. I evaluate what I’m doing at the time.

And I compare my experience with previous times when I felt passionate.

A bit like jotting down mental notes in my imaginary life journal.

And guess what? The more I take note, the more I notice a pattern emerge.

Here’s what I’ve found:

Focusing on my career, I feel most passionate when I’m discovering, sharing and contributing new ideas.

So to experience more passion in my work, and to use it to drive my career, all I have to do is focus my work time on discovering, sharing and contributing useful ideas.

Which, when you think about it, gives me a lot of options for building and expanding my business.

What about you, when do you feel most passionate in your career? Or any other area of your life for that matter?

Leave a Reply

